Staff Pick Logo
Lamentation (Matthew Shardlake Mysteries) Cover Image

Staff Reviews

Lamentation by C.J. Sansom
This book is both strong historical fiction and an intriguing
mystery. The story is based on actual events involving, Katherine Parr,
the sixth (and last) wife of Henry VIII, during the period when Henry
VIII was dying (but it was treason to acknowledge it). Unease in the
court was heightened by the King vacillating between two religious
doctrines, and any courtier  could be in favor one day and accused of
heresy the next. - Annie 

— From Staff Picks


"A triumph both as detective fiction and as a novel ... superior to Hilary Mantel."--The Independent

Summer, 1546. King Henry VIII is slowly, painfully dying. His Protestant and Catholic councilors are engaged in a power struggle; whoever wins will control the government. The Catholic party focuses its attack on Henry's sixth wife--and Matthew Shardlake's old mentor--Queen Catherine Parr.

The Queen has authored a confessional book, Lamentation of a Sinner, so radically Protestant that if it came to the King's attention it could bring both her and her sympathizers crashing down. Although the secret book was kept hidden inside a locked chest in the Queen's private chamber, it has inexplicably vanished. Shardlake's investigations take him on a trail that begins among the backstreet printshops of London, but leads him and his trusty assistant Jack Barak into the dark and labyrinthine world of court politics, a world Shardlake swore never to enter again.

About the Author

C.J. Sansom is the bestselling author of the critically-acclaimed Matthew Sharlake series, as well as the runaway #1 international bestsellers Dominion and Winter in Madrid. He lives in Sussex, England.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780316254977
ISBN-10: 0316254975
Publisher: Mulholland Books
Publication Date: February 2nd, 2016
Pages: 672
Language: English
Series: Matthew Shardlake Mysteries

Lamentation (Matthew Shardlake Mysteries) (Paperback)