The Storyteller of Marrakesh: A Novel (Paperback)

The Storyteller of Marrakesh: A Novel Cover Image
$15.95
Not currently on our shelf. Special Order - Price Subject to Change

Description


"An enigmatic fable in the tradition of 'The Thousand and One Nights.' " —Anderson Tepper, New York Times Book Review


Hassan, a storyteller, has gathered listeners in Marrakesh’s fabled Jemaa el Fna to perform his annual re-creation of the night on which two foreigners mysteriously disappeared from the square. But as his audience offers contradicting testimonies, and details transform or dissolve in the haze of memory, the couple takes on an air as enigmatic as their fate, leaving us to wonder whether Hassan is getting closer to the truth or, more disturbingly, is himself part of the mystery.

About the Author


Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya was born in Jamshedpur, India, and lives in New York. His first novel, The Gabriel Club, was published in eight languages in sixteen countries.

Praise For…


Roy-Bhattacharya’s descriptive powers are acute, and Marrakesh, the Djemaa, the Sahara, and the High Atlas Mountains are vividly rendered through all the senses.
— Thomas Gaughan

Stepped in the ambience of Marrakesh.

A multilayered novel that juxtaposes the artistry of narration with a collision of cultures in the Jemaa. . . . Lyrical.
— Russ Mayes
Product Details
ISBN: 9780393340617
ISBN-10: 0393340619
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Publication Date: February 13th, 2012
Pages: 368
Language: English