The Death and Life of Benny Brooks (Kobo eBook)

The Death and Life of Benny Brooks By Ethan Long Cover Image
$9.99
Available Now

Description


A BCCB Blue Ribbon Best Book of the Year • A Children's Book Council 6th to 8th Grade Favorites Award List Pick

An award-winning children’s book creator grapples with the challenges of his childhood in this poignant and honest illustrated memoir, for fans of Good Different and Mexikid.

Benny Brooks has a lot on his mind: his older brother won’t stop picking on him, his crush has no idea he exists, and he’s struggling in every class except art. If that weren’t enough, his parents got divorced over the summer. Benny just wants to survive the fifth grade—and maybe learn how to ride his best friend Theo’s hot rod bike.

Featuring Benny’s comic illustrations on every page, this bighearted story sheds light on the transformative nature of growing up—especially when there’s family, friendship, and art to guide you.

*Two Starred Reviews*

★ "Captivating…. Long's heartening memoir portrays a boy facing challenging situations with hard-won hope and increasing maturity." —Booklist, starred review

★ "A tender, vulnerable portrayal of one kid’s attempt to shore up his strengths to piece together the shards of a deeply shattered heart.... Readers will appreciate Long’s honest exploration of a troubled family that is bound both by love and tragedy." —The Bulletin, starred review

Product Details
ISBN-13: 9780316333320
Publisher: Christy Ottaviano Books
Publication Date: October 2nd, 2023
Language: